Home > Computers > System Partition on D Drive Instead of C Drive

System Partition on D Drive Instead of C Drive

My D drive was getting a little full so I got a bigger drive to switch it out. Before switching it out I opened up Disk Management & this is what I saw.

Not only is the D drive marked as System & Active but it is also Disk 0.

After doing the steps below, Windows booted up just fine with the new D drive.

  • Right click C & select Mark partition as active.
  • Open an elevated command prompt & type bcdboot c:\windows /s c:
  • Shutdown.
  • Plug C drive into SATA0.
  • Plug the new D drive into SATA1.
  • Power on the PC & go into the bios.
  • Verify the boot order of the hard drives.
  • Reboot.

Now looking at Disk Management everything looks much better. Disk 0 is the C drive & Disk 1 is the new D drive. The C drive is System & Active.

  1. Davit
    June 11, 2015 at 3:17 am

    Thank you very much.
    It helped me!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment