Home > Computers > Mail Applet in the Control Not Working

Mail Applet in the Control Not Working

Warning: This post deals with editing the registry. If you don’t know what that is stop right here & ask someone else to help you. Using the registry incorrectly can cause serious problems that may require you to reinstall Windows. Use the registry at your own risk.

In Windows 7 x64 or Windows Server 2008 R2 the Mail (32-bit) applet shows a blank icon & does nothing when you click on it.

1 not working (modified)

However if you run it manually using the following command it runs just fine.

c:\Windows\SysWOW64\control.exe mlcfg32.cpl

Use the following steps to resolve the issue.

  • Close the Control Panel.
  • Open Regedit & browse to HKLM\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Control
    Panel\Cpls
    .
  • Right click mlcfg32.cpl & select Modify.
  • The current value will be something like C:\PROGRA~2\MICROS~2\Office14\MLCFG32.CPL. Note that the path may be different in your case depending on where Office is installed.
  • Change any single character in the path then click OK. (e.g. C:\PROGRA~2\MICROS~3\Office14\MLCFG32.CPL.
  • Close Regedit.
  • Now open the Control Panel & notice that the applet is gone.

2 gone

  • Close the Control Panel.
  • Open Regedit & browse to HKLM\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Control
    Panel\Cpls
    .
  • Change the value of mlcfg32.cpl back to C:\PROGRA~2\MICROS~2\Office14\MLCFG32.CPL.
  • Close Regedit.
  • Now open the Control Panel & notice that the applet is back & the icon is displaying properly.

3 working (modified)

  • When you click on the applet the Mail Setup – Outlook dialog box opens.

4 mail setup

  1. Meister Lampe
    December 16, 2013 at 10:59 am

    Thanks a lot!

  2. Highhoppin
    December 26, 2013 at 4:58 pm

    This worked! Thanks!

  3. Wen
    April 25, 2014 at 8:30 am

    The mail applet did not re-appear. How do I get this back?

  4. patrickhoban
    April 25, 2014 at 11:37 pm

    @Wen – Just so I understand, it was there and not working. You went through the steps & the icon is now not there at all?

  5. June 11, 2014 at 2:52 pm

    C:\PROGRA~2\MICROS~1\Office14\MLCFG32.CPL <— mine started as this. I tried a MICROS~2 and lost the icon. Doing MICROS~1 restored it. Your results may vary….

  6. June 16, 2014 at 12:47 pm

    Wow !!! Thank you !!! Back in business here thanks to the above. As the prior comment noted, mine started differently, as C:\PROGRA~1\…. The solution was as described, but to put it back as C:\PROGRA~1\ Now is just as it should be. Donation on the way, you saved me HOURS.

  7. Michael Möhle
    September 25, 2014 at 2:00 pm

    Great! Works like a charm! Thanks for sharing it!

  8. Jamie
    October 9, 2014 at 9:57 am

    That is fantastic stuff Patrick! Love it!

  9. Mike Rodgers
    February 11, 2015 at 11:48 am

    Stone cold genius. Thanks!

    Now, what about when I try to add a Data file (.pst) and the instant I click Add I get a “unknown error…, 0x80070003” error? Or, in Outlook 2013, click on File, Open & Export, and Open Outlook Data File, I immediately get a “Path does not exist. Verify the path is correct” error? And I’ve rebuilt the profile dozens of times and tried many other things I run across.

    Any thoughts? Thanks!
    Mike

    • patrickhoban
      February 11, 2015 at 12:27 pm

      I don’t know that I’ve seen that before. Try using ProcMon. I’ll bet you see it looking for a path that doesn’t exist (roaming profile, folder redirection, etc.)

      • Miike Rodgers
        February 11, 2015 at 1:26 pm

        Forgot about Procmon. I’ll work with that some.

        edit: SUCCESS! I knew it was a path problem, because even opening the mail applet by itself and trying to add a data file gave me the error I just didn’t know where. And apparently 0x80070003 is a pretty common “path not found” error.

        In Procmon I noticed Outlook, and then also rundll32.exe (the mail applet), said NAME NOT FOUND when trying to access HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Office\15.0\Outlook\ForcePSTPath.

        Looking up ForcePSTPath I found this page http://www.howto-outlook.com/howto/movingostpstoutlookcomimap.htm and manually keyed in both ForcePSTPath and ForceOSTPath and it all works fine now.

        I’m not sure what ramifications might come along later though. I don’t see registry entries on a couple of other computers either, yet Outlook works ok without them.

        Thanks so much for reminding me about Procmon. Now I can get back to work.

        Thanks again!

  10. February 26, 2015 at 2:38 am

    Thanks for this post it got me in the right way to find the solution. In our case the problem needed to be solved for a Citrix server with multiple user. Below you find the link to solve the problem on a user level.

    http://blog.cupofcare.nl/?p=50?p=50

    • patrickhoban
      March 6, 2015 at 2:41 pm

      Glad it got you going in the right direction for your situation.

  11. March 17, 2015 at 3:38 pm

    Worked like a charm!

  12. Lex
    May 18, 2015 at 9:42 am

    Thanks, saved me a lot of work 🙂

  13. May 25, 2015 at 8:41 am

    Thank you Patrick.

  14. Rav
    July 8, 2015 at 8:57 pm

    Thanks you so much Patrick – Saved a lot of troubleshooting time.

  15. Dan
    August 9, 2015 at 7:23 pm

    Thank you – the mail applet works

  16. Darren
    January 17, 2016 at 9:19 am

    Hi

    I have gone into regedit and navigated to the CPLS folder but when I expand the folder there is no mlcfg32.cpl.

    Any ideas why it’s not there and how I get it back would be appreciated.

    Thanks

    • patrickhoban
      February 2, 2016 at 6:31 pm

      What OS? 32bit or 64bit?

    • May 27, 2016 at 12:52 pm

      Same here. Windows 7 Pro 64 bit

      No mlcfg32.cpl

      • patrickhoban
        June 8, 2016 at 2:19 pm

        What if you search the entire registry for MLCFG32.CPL ?

  17. Leigh Everett
    June 23, 2016 at 7:14 am

    Same here no mlcfg32.cpl in that location. searching the whole registry only finds it under HKEY_C_R\Wow6432Node\CLSID\(ID for Mail (Microsoft Outlook 2013)) \DefaultIcon

    • patrickhoban
      June 24, 2016 at 10:41 am

      Depending on the architecture mlcfg32.cpl should either be in HKLM\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Control Panel\Cpls or HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Control Panel\Cpls. I would say if it isn’t that may be the problem. Perhaps re-installing Office?

  18. Brandon
    June 27, 2016 at 2:36 pm

    the “mlcfg32.cpl” is not listed on any of my 97 machines.. but as it goes I only have 5/97 that I can not OPEN the app.

    It isn’t that is shows as a white paper.. it simply refuses to give access to profiles.

    • patrickhoban
      June 27, 2016 at 7:58 pm

      I’d say run procmon to see what’s going on.

  19. Alex
    July 5, 2016 at 2:18 am

    Hi all

    For those of you reading this in June 2016 and using click to run Office 2013 (i.e. you downloaded MS Office rather than installed it from a CD): There is a known MS bug that could create this behaviour.

    I have been trying to fix this error on one computer for several days. Spent hours trying all sorts of things. so here is the fix for me:

    See http://www.slipstick.com/outlook/2013/outlook-2013control-panel-mail-open/
    and http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/office/forum/office_2013_release-outlook/outlook-2013-mail-icon-in-control-panel-not/afb6a91c-5011-443b-9faf-78a1b4daebd1?page=5

    What fixed it for me was to downgrade to a previous version as per Method 2 in 2nd link above (cd %programfiles%\Microsoft Office 15\ClientX64 then officec2rclient.exe /update user updatetoversion=15.0.4823.1004)

    Hope it helps

    Alex

  20. LyndonP
    July 15, 2016 at 6:01 am

    Worked for me on Windows 7, Outlook 2010. Was frustrating as my Outlook had crashed trying to replicate a user’s problem and I couldn’t get mine back up even after doing a repair. Could then get in and recreate my outlook profile thanks to this fix. Cheers!

  21. February 11, 2018 at 10:23 am

    This article was very helpful. I still have one issue left. I have 2 accounts in my outlook profile. When I move the inbox from my second one to my favorites in the top left panel – it eventually goes away. I’d prefer not to recreate my profile or add the account back.

  1. February 23, 2015 at 7:15 am

Leave a comment