Home > Computers > Printer Keeps Going Offline

Printer Keeps Going Offline

A user reported that they had printed some documents but that they were not printing. Looking at the print server I saw that the printer was showing as Offline.

1 Offline

I was able to ping it as well as bring up the web interface. As a test I disabled SNMP checking for the printer’s port by doing the following:

  • Right click the printer & select Properties.
  • Select the Ports tab.
  • Select the printer’s port & click Configure Port.
  • Uncheck SNMP Status Enabled.
  • Click OK.

The moment I did that the printer went to a Ready status & the documents printed. I have two printer server that both have this printer configured. They were both experiencing the issue so I believe the issue to be with the print servers.

OK, perhaps the SNMP string got changed on the device. I ran an SNMP test (Paessler has a good free one http://www.paessler.com/tools/snmptester) but it check out good using the SNMP string configured on the printer’s port.

So when in doubt use ProcMon. First, I set the printer’s port back to using SNMP checking then fired off ProcMon on the printer server. Within a minute the printer switched from Ready to Offline. I stopped ProcMon & begun the artful task of sifting through the capture. I noticed a section where the print server starting sending SNMP requests to all the printers. I saw a response for all the other printers but none for the one in question. Note below all I saw were UDP Send.

2 no snmp response

So for some reason the printer is not responding (or not responding timely. I didn’t feel like doing a full on packet capture). So like everything else if it’s not working, reboot. Once the printer came back up it I started another ProcMon capture. This time I saw the SNMP requests & responses (UDP Send & UDP Receive).

3 with snmp responses

Sure I could have just left SNMP unchecked on the printer port but that wouldn’t have really resolved the issue; just masked it. Now if it continues to happen I may have to see if there is a newer firmware for the printer that resolves SNMP issues (or contact HP, ugh), but for now a printer reboot will do the trick. I also got to see a little more under-the-hood thanks to ProcMon.

Categories: Computers Tags: , ,
  1. Nate
    August 13, 2016 at 10:45 am

    Great article. Gives us a great look behind the curtain!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

