Home > Computers > Change the Case of a User Logon Name

Change the Case of a User Logon Name

I need to change the case of a user’s logon name from TUser to tuser. Seems simple enough but turns out there’s a little trick.

I open up the properties of the user & select the Account tab.

I change both fields to tuser & click OK.

I open the properties again to double check & notice that the User logon name (pre-Windows 2000) changed but User logon name did not.

The trick is to rename the account without actually renaming it. Right click the account & select Rename.

Now retype the name exactly how it currently is & press Enter. So in my case I just type Test User & press Enter. That will bring up the Rename User dialog box. From there change the case in the User logon name textbox (& pre-Windows 2000 if not already done) & click OK.

Look at the properties of the account & the case had been changed.

Categories: Computers Tags:
  1. October 12, 2012 at 8:34 am

    When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new
    comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment
    is added I get four emails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can
    remove people from that service? Many thanks!

    • patrickhoban
      October 12, 2012 at 1:59 pm

      I have no way of doing that. I believe you can go back to the post and unsubscribe. If not then you ought to be able to click the “unsubscribe” link at the bottom of the next “comments” email you receive from that post.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

