Home > Computers > No Certificate Templates Could Be Found Error

No Certificate Templates Could Be Found Error

I was doing a little Active Directory Certificate Services (AD CS) testing in the lab. I came across the following error when browsing to the web enrollment page, “No certificate templates could be found. You do not have permission to request a certificate from this CA, or an error occurred while accessing the Active Directory.”

Searching around online I found plenty of articles & posts on this error but none of the solutions fixed my issue. After three days of troubleshooting here’s what worked for me.

Being a lab at some point I had changed the Authentication settings in IIS on both CertEnroll & CertSrv to Anonymous Authentication Enabled & Windows Authentication Disabled.

When I changed them back to the defaults which are Anonymous Authentication Disabled & Windows Authentication Enabled I stopped getting the error.

  1. Ca poutre
    July 2, 2012 at 2:25 pm

    that worked!
    thanks

  2. paul
    July 30, 2012 at 2:58 pm

    Thank you – this worked for me as well!

  3. Henrique Pinheiro
    August 28, 2012 at 3:18 pm

    that worked!
    thanks

  4. patrickhoban
    August 28, 2012 at 5:17 pm

    Glad it helped. Thanks for visting my blog.

  5. success
    December 21, 2012 at 10:53 am

    Thatnks mate it is working now

  6. frank
    April 3, 2013 at 10:00 am

    Sorry it’s not working for me, I have tried with anonymous and windows authentication, still the same error

  7. asdf
    June 16, 2014 at 2:05 pm

    I do not believe you should be requiring authentication on CertEnroll. That’s where the CRLs are published.

  8. nospam@wel.com
    September 25, 2014 at 5:33 pm

    Man, that helped! I do not know how, but I got the Auth permissions inverted exactly as yours. All numerous articles in Internet turned out advising some nonsense.

  9. kunto
    April 5, 2015 at 8:58 pm

    You have made my day…
    Thanks a bunch

  10. Gui
    September 8, 2015 at 9:56 am

    thank you!!!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

