Home > Computers > Error Renaming Network Card

Error Renaming Network Card

After installing KB2521220 on a server I noticed that my NICs no longer had static IP addresses & were picking up IP addresses from DHCP. Digging a little deeper I noticed that the NICs were all identified as new devices. Kind of like if you were to move a NIC from one slot to the other. It’s the same NIC but the OS identified it as a new device.


Before


After

I open Network Connections (ncpa.cpl) & see that the two NICs I had renamed are back to the default (Local Area Connection, Local Area Connection 2, etc.). I right click to rename the first one & get an error that says, “Cannot rename this connection. A connection with the name you specified already exists. Specify a different name.”

I do a little Binging (yeah, I said it) & come across KB269155. It basically talks about orphaned devices & how to remove them. Following Method 1 in the article I see the six orphaned NICs.

  • From a command prompt type set devmgr_show_nonpresent_devices=1
  • Open Device Manager (devmgmt.msc).
  • Click View>Show hidden devices.


I right click each of the orphaned NICs & select Uninstall. (Do not uninstall the driver!!!) After that I’m able to go back & rename my NICs.

  1. Marc
    January 17, 2013 at 8:16 am

    You forgot to mention, that it must be an elevated command prompt (unless your profile has administrator privileges) and that both statements must be executed from the same command prompt. Otherwise, this was _exactly_ what I was looking for. Now, how to rename the devices (e.g. Broadcom #37 to Broadcom)… 🙂

    • Trana
      May 12, 2013 at 4:26 pm

      Omg!, I’ve looked at the original KB, 5 other blogs, all outlining the same thing, but I am pretty damn sure none of the others said that you had to run device manager from the command prompt, I was launching it via start menu…lol, thanks Marc!

  2. Laars Camot
    March 20, 2013 at 11:21 am

    Marc, thx! both statements must be executed from the same command prompt!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

