Home > Computers > Exchange 2010 Transition Gotcha

Exchange 2010 Transition Gotcha

I’ve been working on a transition from Exchange 2003 to 2010 for the past few months. I did a lot of testing in a lab and caught several things in the lab that saved tons of time in the production rollout. Unfortunately, during the production rollout I ran into an issue that I was not prepared for. I still have Terminal Servers using Outlook 2003. I noticed the following behavior:

  • Outgoing emails stay in the Outbox for about 1 minute.
  • New email arrival takes about 1 minute.
  • Items that are deleted don’t disappear for about 1 minute.
  • If you try to delete the “deleted” email again you get an error that says, “Unknown error” then the “deleted” email goes away.
  • Items that are moved to another folder take about 1 minute to move.

There is a known issue using Outlook 2003 in online mode (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2009942). The KB article has a very good technical explanation. There are 2 workarounds mentioned in the KB article but there are really 3. Method 2 is not an option because I cannot run Outlook in cached mode on a Terminal Server. I implemented the registry fix in method 1 setting it to the lowest value. While it does speed it up from 60 seconds to 5, it is still going to cause a negative user experience. The third options is of course upgrading to Outlook 2007 or higher.

So for right now my transition is in a holding pattern until I can update all my Terminal Servers to the latest version of Office. Good thing I only moved over a few users that are OK with dealing with the problem until then. Keep this in mind if you are moving to Exchange 2010.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

