Home > Computers > Configure AT&T Broadband Card on Windows 7

Configure AT&T Broadband Card on Windows 7

Like a lot of people I am trying out the Windows 7 Beta on one of my laptops. Though I haven’t dug into it very far I have to say that so far, I like it. In fact, I think I already like it more than Vista, although to some people that isn’t saying much.

I like it so much that I really want to start using it on my main laptop. What better way to dig into the nuts & bolts of the thing then using it every day? Installs were going surprisingly good until I ran into a show stopper (at least for me).

The laptop is a Dell with the built-in 5500 broadband data card for AT&T. Windows Update does have a beta driver for the device but the software from Dell to connect to the Internet does not install. After a few hours of searching the Internet for a beta version of the software, I remembered something I did a long time ago when I use to tether my good ole Cingular 8125 to my laptop. I just created a Dial-up connection. Here’s how I did it.

  1. Open the Network and Sharing Center.
  2. Click Set up a new connection or network.
  3. Select Connect to the Internet & click Next.
  4. Select Dial-up.
  5. Select the broadband wireless card (i.e. Dell Wireless 5500 Mobile Broadband).
  6. Configure the Dial-up info as follows & click Connect.
    1. Dial-up phone number: *99#
    2. User name: WAP@CINGULARGPRS.COM
    3. Password: CINGULAR1
    4. Remember this password: Checked
    5. Connection name: AT&T
    6. Allow other people to use this connection: Checked
  7. When prompted to choose the network location, select Public.
Categories: Computers Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

